Today, President Muhammadu Buhari inaugurated the Board of North East Development Commission (NEDC).


The North East Development Commission (NEDC) was established in 2017, after the Bill establishing the Commission was passed by the two legislative chambers. Then, on October 25th, 2017 President Muhammadu Buhari assented to the Bill, then signing it into an Act.

The NEDC is charged with the responsibility to, “among other things, receive and manage funds from allocation of the Federal Account international donors for the settlement, rehabilitation and reconstruction of roads, houses and business premises of victims of insurgency as well as tackling menace of poverty, illiteracy level, ecological problems and any other related environmental or developmental challenges in the North-East states”- Adamawa, Bauchi, Borno, Gombe, Taraba, Yobe.

AD: (FREE) secret Fruits that Increased My Manh0d size and Lasting Power in 7days.. CLICK HERE TO GET IT

The Act establishing the Commission provides for a Governing Body, comprising of a Chairman; a Managing Director and Chief Executive; three Executive Directors (one from each Member state not being represented by the Chairman of the Board, the Managing Director and the representative of the North-East zone); one person each to represent the six geo-political zones of Nigeria; and one person to represent the Federal Ministry of Finance; and Budget and National Planning.

On January 2019, President Muhammadu Buhari nominated candidates to serve as Chairman and members of the Board of the Commission.

On April 9, 2019, the Senate confirmed the appointment of Major-General Paul Tarfa (rtd) as Chairman of the North East Development Commission (NEDC). Others confirmed are:

● Mohammed Goni Alkali – MD/CEO
● Musa Uma Yashi – ED Humanitarian Affairs
● Mohammed Jawa B. – Executive Director, Admin and Finance
● Umar Maiwada Mohammed – Executive Director, Operations
● Hon. David Sabo Kente – Member representing North East zone
● Asamo M. Mohammed – Member representing North West zone
● Benjamin Adeniyi – Member representing Central zone
● Olawale Osun – Member representing South West zone
● Theo Nkechi – Member representing South East
● Bassey Uke – Member representing South South zone

AD: Embrace Your Unique Style: Visit Haabi Collection, The Best Place To Find Women Clothings

Sign Up to Get notified When Stories Like This are Published, Enter and Confirm Email Below:

Enter your email address:

Use your ← → (arrow) keys to browse